The Streets Diary

The Streets Best Kept Secrets Exposed

Is 30 the new 40?

Posted by yoMcLovin on August 20, 2010

In three years I will be turning 30 and if you were born in the early 80’s, it’s safe to say that you’re in the same boat.

There isn’t a day that goes by where my 23yr old girlfriend doesn’t remind me that I will soon be turning 30. She introduces me to her family and friends as “her 30 year old boyfriend”.  She bought me a cake for my 26th birthday that had a #30 candle on it and she claims they ran out of 26’s.

I was teaching my 4yr old daughter the difference between girls and boys, and this is how the conversation went;”Is mommy a boy or girl?” she says “Mommy is a girl” I asked her if her Uncle Rell is a boy or girl? Her reply was “Uncle Rell is a boy daddy”. Then I asked if daddy was a boy or a girl? Her response was “you’re a dad, daddy” and starting laughing. Her response made me feel old and I found myself in the mirror looking for gray hair.

My brother has challenged me and loss in every sport known to mankind and still claims that I’m old and can’t keep up with the bucks.

I’m not running from 30 I am actually going to embrace it even though it may hit me harder than a pro linebacker on an un-expecting quarterback. Any remaining swag that I currently have will be lost when I turn 30.

My attitude towards a lot of things will begin to change. I have noticed that once I turned 25 my fashion sense has changed dramatically from flashy, baggy clothes to a more conservative, clean look. The only flashy items left in my possession are my gadgets (cell phones and electronics) they do the flashing for me now. I can only imagine what my image will be like once I reach 30, it would probably imitate that of “The Cosby Show” slacks and sweaters.

My taste in music will most likely stay the same just not played as loud. No more loud glass shattering sub-woofers in my trunk or 28” rims on my mini-van (joking I don’t drive a mini-van).

Also my interest in politics, the stock market, and world news will increase greatly due to the fact that any fluctuation in these could negatively affect my property values, retirement plans and kids futures.

I don’t see anything wrong with turning 30, as they say in the club before it closes “last call for alcohol” 29 is my last call the party was good while it lasted but now I have to get ready for work on Monday…….

“The only thing that comes to a sleeper is a dream”

Leave a Reply

 
